Nov 30 22

Nilüfer Yanya Shares Sampha & King Krule Remixes Of “Midnight Sun”, Announces Deluxe Version Of Critically Acclaimed Album PAINLESS

Nilüfer Yanya announces the deluxe version of her critically acclaimed sophomore album PAINLESS due December 14th via ATO Records. The deluxe album will include five additional recordings, including the Sampha and King Krule remixes of “midnight sun” that are out today, along with three original PAINLESS songs reimagined with producer Will Archer. The spacious, drum and bass-infused remix from Sampha and the sparkling synth based remix from King Krule follows Nilüfer’s cover of PJ Harvey’s “rid of me,” which will also be included on the deluxe and was shared earlier this year.

Nilüfer expresses her excitement about the announcement sharing, “PAINLESS is going deluxe! I’m honestly so glad so many of you listened to PAINLESS when it first came out 9 months ago so I’m very happy to be able to offer you the deluxe version with two new remixes of ‘midnight sun’ and my cover of ‘rid of me’.”

Upon its release, PAINLESS garnered a Best New Music stamp from Pitchfork and features the stand-out tracks “anotherlife,” “stabilise” and the original version of “midnight sun,” which Nilüfer performed on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. The album has already been included on several best albums of year lists including Vogue, Pitchfork, Stereogum, The Ringer, Consequence of Sound and Brooklyn Vegan. With PAINLESS, Nilüfer runs head first into the depths of emotional vulnerability. The album was recorded between a basement studio in Stoke Newington and Riverfish Music in Penzance with collaborator and producer Will Archer, DEEK Recordings founder Bullion, Big Thief producer Andrew Sarlo, and musician Jazzi Bobbi. PAINLESS follows her renowned 2019 debut album Miss Universe and her 2021 EP Feeling Lucky?, which further explored Nilüfer’s fascination with ‘90s alt-rock melodies and drew on themes of resentment, her fear of flying, and the concept of luck.

Pre-order/save PAINLESS (Deluxe), listen to the Sampha and King Krule remixes of “midnight sun” here and stay tuned for more from Nilüfer Yanya.


Nilüfer Yanya
ATO Records
December 14, 2022

1. the dealer
2. L:R
3. shameless
4. stabilise
5. chase me
6. midnight sun
7. trouble
8. try
9. company
10. belong with you
11. the mystic
12. anotherlife
13. shameless (reflects)
14. midnight sun (reflects)
15. chase me (reflects)
16. midnight sun (sampha remix)
17. midnight sun (king krule remix)
18. rid of me