Paper Wheels

Trey Anastasio

  1. Sometime After Sunset
  2. Speak To Me
  3. The Song
  4. Invisible Knife
  5. Bounce
  6. In Rounds
  7. Cartwheels
  8. Liquid Time
  9. Never
  10. Paper Wheels
Album Notes

Produced by Trey Anastasio and longtime collaborator Bryce Goggin, Paper Wheels was recorded last year at The Barn, the Phish founding guitarist’s Vermont farmhouse-turned-rehearsal space/recording studio. Anastasio and the members of Trey Anastasio Band (TAB) developed the material on stage while touring and at soundcheck on the tour leading up to the sessions, allowing them to track the album in just under a week. Taking a cue from the energetic immediacy of classic Stax Studio recording sessions, TAB worked fast and loose, playing together live in The Barn and wrapping up tracks after one or two takes. Written and co-written by Anastasio alongside frequent lyric partners Tom Marshall and Steve “The Dude of Life” Pollak, songs like the funk-driven “Bounce” and the elegiac “Invisible Knife” (written solely by Anastasio) are among the legendarily diverse artist’s most infectious and inventive, alive with creative vigor, robust musicianship, and true soul power.


Trey Anastasio