Graveyard Whistling

Old 97’s

  1. I Don’t Wanna Die in This Town
  2. Bad Luck Charm
  3. All Who Wander
  4. Jesus Loves You
  5. Good with God (feat. Brandi Carlile)
  6. She Hates Everybody
  7. Irish Whiskey Pretty Girls
  8. Nobody
  9. Drinkin’ Song
  10. Turns Out I’m Trouble
  11. Those Were the Days
Album Notes

In 1996, Old 97’s recorded Too Far to Care. It was their major-label debut—following two independent releases and a year-long bidding war, the Dallas-based quartet had signed with Elektra Records. But rather than venture into some state-of-the-art studio in New York or LA, the band decamped to Village Productions in Tornillo, Texas, a remote facility in the middle of two thousand acres of pecan trees near the Mexican border, with a mixing board acquired from an engineer who had worked on some of Queen’s albums. Now they have returned to record their eleventh studio album, Graveyard Whistling.

The result is the eleven songs of Graveyard Whistling, from a group that has earned the respect and veneration as one of the pioneers of the alt-country movement, while still retaining the raucous energy, deceptive cleverness, and knockabout spirit that first distinguished them from the pack.


Old 97’s

American Primitive
Love The Holidays
Most Messed Up