Sketches of Brunswick East

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

  1. Sketches of Brunswick East I (feat. Mild High Club)
  2. Countdown (feat. Mild High Club)
  3. D-Day (feat. Mild High Club)
  4. Tezeta (feat. Mild High Club)
  5. Cranes, Planes, and Migraines (feat. Mild High Club)
  6. The Spider and Me (feat. Mild High Club)
  7. Sketches of Brunswick East II (feat. Mild High Club)
  8. Dusk to Dawn on Lygon Street (feat. Mild High Club)
  9. The Book (feat. Mild High Club)
  10. A Journey to (S)hell [feat. Mild High Club]
  11. Rolling Stoned (feat. Mild High Club)
  12. You Can Be Your Silhouette (feat. Mild High Club)
  13. Sketches of Brunswick East III (feat. Mild High Club)
Album Notes

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard surprised us with the release of their third album of 2017, Sketches of Brunswick East, a jazz and Tropicalia infused collaboration with the psychedelic Mild High Club.

Sketches is a soothing balm of a record, a chance to get to know King Gizzard’s sunny, playful side. Where previous albums have slipped down sonic worm-holes to explore distant galaxies, this one is an examination of (and homage to) the Melbourne suburb in which King Gizzard write and record in their own studio, and from where they run their planet-spanning operation.

“We’re always walking up and down the street all the time,” described lead singer Stu Mackenzie. “Going to get coffee, lugging amps, just constantly wandering Lygon Street and spending a lot of time looking out into the distance, seeing the terrain change as new apartment buildings are erected, watching the cranes build bigger cranes. In that respect, perhaps it represents greater changes that are happening in the wider world, and this is our attempt to find beauty within a place that we spend so much time.”

A knowing nod to Miles Davis’s Sketches of Spain, this album also sees the band further exploring a Tropicalia element their music only ever previously hinted at. The band’s various sketches about time and place were reworked and pieced together, akin to “sampling-culture, in which old ideas are reshaped and suddenly things make sense,” explained Mackenzie. “It was like we were continually jamming with ourselves.”

Sketches Of Brunswick East is the third of five projected albums to be released by King Gizzard in 2017. “We don’t expect everyone to like everything that we release, but I hope people can view these five records as one body of work,” says Stu of this grand creative undertaking. “They’ve been made at the same time, by the same people, in the same place, and they all overlap.”


King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

Chunky Shrapnel
Infest The Rats' Nest
Fishing For Fishies
12 Bar Bruise
Eyes Like the Sky
Float Along Fill Your Lungs
Willoughby Beach
Gumboot Soup